top of page
  • Sunny

The Journey continues

Hi there,


It has been quite a journey and some time since my last post in 2022. It is suprising how fast and equally slow a year can go by. I had really hoped that I would have more time to share my experiences as I continued on the rollercoster ride of medical school but the weeks turned into months and before I knew it I was in the whirlwind of second year.


What a challenging year! If the stories I come across on social media by other students are any indication, the second year of medical school knocks most people off their feet, irrespective of which University you are at. It is so theory-laden. From the very first day (second week of January, mind you- barely recovered from all the end of year festivities) it's one academically gruelling activity after the other. In fact, I think I need to dedicate a seperate blog purely about the experience of second year.


Despite the academic challenge, I have been able to keep my head above water academically. I have learned and grown so much. Block by block, my appreciation for this journey is deepened. I thougth I knew a lot but it turns out I know nothing. There is much to learn and a veeeery short space to do it. One thing I can tell you is that I am often scared of the responsibility of this career but also excited to gain the skill set to assist others to the best of my ability. I am excited to experience medical science in this way.


To be entirely transparent, there are moments where I see accomplished doctors similar in age to me and feel a sense of longing arising, contemplating what my journey might have been had I began it sooner. Thoughts like "I could be deciding on specialization by now, I could have been considering establishing my own practise, my career could have been like this, I could have been involved in significant projects, and achieved financial independence...I could...I could..I could". I think moments like this are natural, and I try not to be too critical of myself for experiencing them. I consistently remind myself that my diverse experiences, academic and otherwise, will shape me into a physician with a broader understanding of people, science and world. I genuinely believe these experiences will contribute positively.


Let me clarify that my reflections are not driven by envy towards those who are further along their journeys. It's actually a complex emotion where my admiration sometimes intertwines with a sense of yearing. Nevertheless, I am grateful for my current position. I appreciate every experience, person, and entity that has played a role in my journey, contributing to where I find myself today.


I would like to thank everyone that has sent me messages during this period to thank me for the information on my blog (though it is outdated), question my silence, share their experience and others just expressing their support. I apologize for neglecting my inbox. Seeing the messages reminds me why I started the blog. I really should do better. It heart warming to know this blog has reached and helped some people. I always viewed this blog as being bigger than me. I wanted it to be a place for community, learning and solace for fellow & aspiring medical student navigating the same challenging path. I hope I can grow it into that.


So, what can you expect moving forward?


I'm recommitting to this myself to this blog, not just as a personal outlet but as a space to share the highs, lows, and everything in between that comes with being a medical student. I want to explore other formats as well. From the fascinating cases I encounter, fumbles during clinical training, to the late-night study sessions, I want to bring you into the world of medical education and beyond as I (and hopefully others) experience it.


There are just 6 weeks until I begin third year, a place I could have never fully imagined I'd be. I am wishing all the best to those eagerly waiting for acceptance letters. To those preparing to deligently work to enhance their marks for future applications, I send wishes of renewed motivation and steadfast commitment.


If you dream of pursing medicine, or any other alternative career that diverges from your current path, this is your sign. Do it. Take action. Research all the avenues that will pave the way to your aspirations. Commit to making it happen. There is a high probability that the journey will not be easy but if the path is to your dream, the challenges will stepping stones to a great destination.


Lastly, a resounding and enthusiatic congratulations to all those who have already been accepted and will be embarking on their journey in medicine next year. Well done!!!




Regards,

S.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fees and funding

I have always believed that the cost of university in South Africa is very high especially when you take into account the background of the majority that apply. You have students who go from a school

REJECTIONS

I received two rejections today. Well maybe calling them rejections is incorrect. I did not pass my WAPT which is a requirement for the Wits GEMP. I'm really not sure where things went wrong but I ass

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page