top of page
  • Sunny

GEMP Composite Index Score

Updated: May 1, 2021

What happens after applying for the GEMP?


If you meet the minimum requirements to apply for the GEMP the next step is to wait to be invited to the Wits Additional Placement Test (WAPT). The test includes three sections: Human Anatomy, Human Physiology and Molecular Medicine. The material covered in the test and the recommended study guides are available online. The is a Pass/Fail test meaning the overall score does not matter as it is not calculated towards your admission score. Your aim should be to pass each section for your application to be consider in the final selection process.


Those who pass the WAPT are then considered for selection into the program. Students are ranked according to their Composite Index Score. The composite index is calculated by averaging the final 2 years of study. If you are a currently a third year student, that would be the average of your second and third year of study. If you are a post graduate student with an honours degree like myself it would be the average of your third year and honours year. Students who have completed postgraduate DEGREES are then also given extra points and they are weighted as follows: Honours = 1, Masters = 2 and Doctorates = 3. These points are awarded cumulatively so if you had a PhD you would have 6 additional points added to the average of your third and honours year. Unfortunately, certificates, diplomas and any other non-degree studies are excluded.


E.g.

Bachelor of Social Science = 73

Bachelor of Social Science Honours = 85

Master of Social Science = Pass

Doctor of Philosophy (Social Science) = Pass

CI = 73+85/2

CI= 79+1+2+3

CI= 85%


Students are selected according to their ranking. I was very curious to find out the rankings of students who have previously been accepted to determine if I had a realistic chance of being accepted. I took to YouTube channels, Facebook pages and blogs where previous students recounted their experience of this process and the cut-off mark for students that eventually made it through the selection process. On average, it appeared students with 80% and above were comfortably accepted in the program. The lower range of those accepted seems to be 75% for internal wits applicants and 78% for external applicants. This was information gathered from other people and is NOT from the University itself.


I found this very demotivating as when I calculated my CI score, I had a meagre 72% and completing my master’s degree would push that to 74%. That is still very far from the 78-80% target. My undergraduate degree brings down my average severely. I had a turbulent year and I wish I could go back and try performing better.


What I took away from all the personal sources I visited was to apply anyway. No two years of the selection process was the same. Sometime the cut-off CI was very high, sometimes it was relatively lower. I would lose nothing by applying(...well, maybe my mental health for a few months while I get over another rejection).


So, I am keeping the faith. I am applying and praying for the best. Unlike a student in third year or honours, I have no way of changing my final mark. If you are a third year student or honours student I really advise you to try put everything aside and fully apply yourself in these years. In the event you do not get into the GEMP, it still positions you well for acceptance into an Honours/Masters Program and funding to pursue further studies.


I am applying to every other university. Starting at first year is better than never starting at all.


Sunny

1,296 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fees and funding

I have always believed that the cost of university in South Africa is very high especially when you take into account the background of the majority that apply. You have students who go from a school

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page