top of page
  • Sunny

University of Limpopo Medicine Selection


I feel very ashamed to say I only recently learned that the University of Limpopo had a medical school. To my understanding, it received its accreditation to offer the degree in 2014. I struggled to find the information I needed regarding the selection process for postgraduate students so I decided to contact the Direct of the School. I received a detailed document within 3 hours of my email. If you follow this blog, you should know how much I appreciate getting prompt response. So yes, I was pleasantly surprised and highly appreciative


General admission requirements

Graduate and final year students with relevant majors in Life Science are considered for the program. Applicants must still have completed the requisite subjects at the matric level and objected the minimum marks required for acception: Level 5 in Life Science, Mathematics, Physical and level 4 in English and two additional subjects. Matric results are not considered further.


The selection process for University Graduates

The results of the most recently completed degree are then assessed. Briefly, students must have an average of over 60% and must have completed their degree within the minimum prescribed time. Students are ranked as follows:


The final mark of each module completed is assigned a score (Indicated on table 1). The total points of all the modules will be added and divided by the number of modules completed to obtain an average. To be considered for the program, applicants must score a minimum of 12 points. Additional points are then given to each graduate/postgraduate degree completed in the minimum prescribed time. A science degree = 1, Health Science degree = 2, Honours, Masters and PhD in Health since are each given an additional one point. These points are cumulative.


I hope this information is helpful.


I have never visited the Limpopo province and honestly speaking, the possibility of having to move there does give me a bit of anxiety. But you know what would give me life long anxiety? Never being a doctor. I am going to apply and honestly hope for the best. The university website is not as advanced as some of the others so I do hope the application process is easy and smooth. As it stands I do not see anything about an online application process. Secondly, the university has also indicated that there is a minimum wait of 4 weeks before your application will acknowledged. This is really stressful. Most universities confirm receipt of an application almost immediately hitting the online submit button.


Cost of Medical School

The 2021 cost Limpopo medical school fees are listed below for each year. This excludes the cost of residence. The prices would naturally be higher in 2022. I can never get over the cost of education in this country especially when you take into consideration that majority of us earn below the minimum wage. Alas, one can just hope to get in and pray the finances somehow sort themselves out.

Year 1 – R66850.95

Year 2 – R68473.80

Year 3 – R 63678.54

Year 4 – R 80158.32

Year 5 – R 58527.30

Year 6 – R70 128.06


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fees and funding

I have always believed that the cost of university in South Africa is very high especially when you take into account the background of the majority that apply. You have students who go from a school

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page